All about Design…

All about Design…

In the beginning, God created.

god-creating-ex-nihilo

I have read that verse from Genesis 1:1 countless times in my lifetime. This week is the first time I have seen it the way I do today!  God created.  Yes, He created many things…too many to list or number! Such variety, such complex simplicity!  But, well, of course, He is God; the great I Am, after all.

But wait!  He created. He created man in His own image, male and female He createdthem.

THAT WAS US!!!  When He was in front of His pristine canvas on its massive easel in THE Universal Studio, HE was thinking of us. And He thought it would be good- it was in His heART that we should be like Him.

WOW, just, wow!   He gave us the God kind of life- He gave us Zoe. He actually, literally breathed His life into us!    If you will take several minutes, or an hour, or a day and meditate on just that fact, so many things will become real to you.   God shared His life with us from the very first rough sketch He made. That should tell you that we are pretty significant. God did not share His breath with the angels. Scripture does not tell us that He shared it with the animals, yet they breathe.

 

and_god_created_woman_by_dactrigger-d39hvod

But they do not have His image. He shared His image. His own life-giving breath was not enough!

He wanted to give of Himself.

He shared with us the capacity to love,

to think, to choose,to hate, to destroy, and

to create!

Why then, do we have so much difficulty embracing our value, and the validity of our time spent creating?

This is what life is about… this journey of finding our “shape” and allowing ourselves to settle into to that uniquely formed, and (dare I say it again?) createdplace for us in this Universal Studio.

The journey begins with the step of  opening our heart and mind to the truth that we were intentional. Regardless of the natural circumstances that were the physical impetus of our existence, the Word  in Psalm 139  says:

13 “Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out;
    You formed me in my mother’s womb.
I thank you, High God—You’re breathtaking!
    Body and soul, I am marvelously made!
    I worship in adoration—what a creation!
You know me inside and out,
    You know every bone in my body;
You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit,
    how I was sculpted from nothing into something.
Like an open book, You watched me grow from conception to birth;
    all the stages of my life were spread out before You,
The days of my life all prepared
    before I’d even lived one day.

Your thoughts—how rare, how beautiful!
    God, I’ll never comprehend them!
18 I couldn’t even begin to count them—
    any more than I could count the sand of the sea.
Oh, let me rise in the morning and live always with You!”

Yes. We were createdby Divine Design in THE Universal Studio.

Not a “happy accident”!  Thoughtfully, lovingly, sacrificially created.

My challenge to you this week is to meditate upon Psalm 139, especially verses 1-18.

After today, you could read and hide 3 verses in your heart each day.  Read verses 1-18 before you close your eyes to sleep.  Allow this to sink into your skin, and flow down deep into your heart, like watercolor spreads and becomes one with the paper.

And let’s pray for one another as we take this journey!

The ‘word” for this month is GRACE.  Undeserved favor, God -imparted ability.  You are created in His image, and you have been given great grace.   AAS_SoulCare_soulchild2

May this week be the week that this becomes more real to you than the screen you are reading it from.

Handwritten Signature

Leave a Reply

